Judi Dench



Place of birth:

York, North Yorkshire, England, UK:


Dame Judith Olivia "Judi" Dench, CH, DBE, FRSA (born 9 December 1934) is an English film, stage and television actress. Dench made her professional debut in 1957 with the Old Vic Company. Over the following few years she played in several of William Shakespeare's plays in such roles as Ophelia in Hamlet, Juliet in Romeo and Juliet and Lady Macbeth in Macbeth. She branched into film work, and won a BAFTA Award as Most Promising Newcomer; however, most of her work during this period was in theatre. Not generally known as a singer, she drew strong reviews for her leading role in the musical Cabaret in 1968. During the next two decades, she established herself as one of the most significant British theatre performers, working for the National Theatre Company and the Royal Shakespeare Company. In television, she achieved success during this period, in the series A Fine Romance from 1981 until 1984 and in 1992 began a continuing role in the television romantic comedy series As Time Goes By. Her film appearances were infrequent until she was cast as M in GoldenEye (1995), a role she has played in each James Bond film since. She received several notable film awards for her role as Queen Victoria in Mrs. Brown (1997), and has since been acclaimed for her work in such films as Shakespeare in Love (1998), Chocolat (2000), Iris (2001), Mrs Henderson Presents (2005) and Notes on a Scandal (2006), and the television production The Last of the Blonde Bombshells (2001). Regarded by critics as one of the greatest actresses of the post-war period, and frequently named as the leading British actress in polls, Dench has received many award nominations for her acting in theatre, film and television; her awards include ten BAFTAs, seven Laurence Olivier Awards, two Screen Actors Guild Awards, two Golden Globes, an Academy Award, and a Tony Award. She was married to actor Michael Williams from 1971 until his death in 2001. They are the parents of actress Finty Williams.

Film Credits

Artemis Fowl (2020)
as Commander Root
Cats (2019)
as Deuteronomy
Red Joan (2019)
as Joan Stanley
All Is True (2018)
as Anne Hathaway
Palo Santo (2018)
as Mother of Palo Santo
Nothing Like a Dame (2018)
as Herself
Judi Dench: My Passion for Trees (2017)
Murder on the Orient Express (2017)
as Princess Natalia Dragomiroff
Victoria & Abdul (2017)
as Queen Victoria
Tulip Fever (2017)
as The Abbess of St. Ursula
Judi Dench: All the World's Her Stage (2016)
as Herself
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (2016)
as Miss Avocet
Shakespeare Live! From the RSC (2016)
Kenneth Branagh Theatre Company Live: The Winter's Tale (2015)
as Paulina
Spectre (2015)
as M (uncredited)
The Vote (2015)
The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2015)
as Evelyn Greenslade
Roald Dahl's Esio Trot (2015)
as Mrs. Silver
Six by Sondheim (2013)
as Herself (archive footage)
National Theatre Live: Fifty Years on Stage (2013)
as Cleopatra/Desiree Armfeldt
Philomena (2013)
as Philomena
Muse of Fire (2013)
as Herself
Skyfall (2012)
as M
Everything or Nothing (2012)
as Herself
Stars In Shorts (2012)
as Mary
Run For Your Wife (2012)
as Bag Lady
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2011)
as Evelyn Greenslade
My Week with Marilyn (2011)
as Sybil Thorndike
J. Edgar (2011)
as Anna Marie Hoover
Friend Request Pending (2011)
as Mary
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)
as High Society Lady
Into the Woods (2011)
Jane Eyre (2011)
as Mrs. Fairfax
James Bond Supports International Women's Day (2011)
as M (voice)
Cranford: Return to Cranford (2010)
as Miss Matty Jenkyns
Nine (2009)
as Lilli
Rage (2009)
as Mona Carvell
Quantum of Solace (2008)
as M
Cranford (2007)
as Miss Matty Jenkyns
Vanity Fair: Killers Kill, Dead Men Die (2007)
as The Maiden Aunt
Notes on a Scandal (2006)
as Barbara Covett
Casino Royale (2006)
as M
Doogal (2006)
as Narrator
Pride & Prejudice (2005)
as Lady Catherine de Bourg
Mrs Henderson Presents (2005)
as Mrs. Laura Henderson
We Become Silent - The Last Days of Health Freedom (2005)
as Narrator
Ladies in Lavender (2004)
as Ursula
The Chronicles of Riddick (2004)
as Aereon
Home on the Range (2004)
as Mrs. Caloway (voice)
Bugs! (2003)
as Narrator (voice)
Billy Connolly A Bafta Tribute (2002)
as Herself
Die Another Day (2002)
as M
Bond Girls Are Forever (2002)
as Herself
The Importance of Being Earnest (2002)
as Lady Bracknell
Richard Rodgers: Some Enchanted Evening (2002)
as Performer: "Sixteen Going on Seventeen"
The Shipping News (2001)
as Agnis Hamm
Iris (2001)
as Iris Murdoch
Chocolat (2000)
as Armande Voizin
Into the Arms of Strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport (2000)
as Narrator
The Last of the Blonde Bombshells (2000)
The World Is Not Enough (1999)
as M
Tea with Mussolini (1999)
as Arabella
Shakespeare in Love (1998)
as Queen Elizabeth
Hey, Mr Producer! (1998)
Tomorrow Never Dies (1997)
as M
Mrs Brown (1997)
as Queen Victoria
Hamlet (1996)
as Hecuba
GoldenEye (1995)
as M
Jack & Sarah (1995)
as Margaret
J.R.R.T. : A Study of John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, 1892-1973 (1992)
as Narrator
Absolute Hell (1991)
Can You Hear Me Thinking? (1990)
Henry V (1989)
as Mistress Quickly
A Handful of Dust (1988)
as Mrs. Beaver
Ghosts (1987)
84 Charing Cross Road (1987)
as Nora Doel
Make and Break (1987)
The Browning Version (1985)
as Millie Crocker-Harris
Mr. and Mrs. Edgehill (1985)
as Dorrie Edgehill
A Room with a View (1985)
as Eleanor Lavish
Wetherby (1985)
as Marcia Pilborough
The Angelic Conversation (1985)
as Narrator
Saigon: Year Of The Cat (1983)
The Cherry Orchard (1981)
Going Gently (1981)
as Sister Scarli
On Giant's Shoulders (1979)
as Hazel Wiles
Macbeth (1979)
as Lady Macbeth
Langrishe, Go Down (1978)
as Imogen Langrishe
My Homeland (1976)
as Reader
Dead Cert (1974)
as Laura Davidson
Luther (1974)
as Katharina
Keep an Eye on Amélie (1973)
as Amélie
A Midsummer Night's Dream (1968)
as Titania
Talking to a Stranger (1966)
as Terry
He Who Rides a Tiger (1965)
as Joanne
A Study in Terror (1965)
as Sally
Four in the Morning (1965)
as Wife ("Judi")
The Third Secret (1964)
as Miss Humphries
The Cherry Orchard (1962)
as Anya
An Age of Kings (1960)
as Katherine

Production Credits

Look Back in Anger (1989)