The Towering Inferno (1974)


At the opening party of a colossal—but poorly constructed—office building, a massive fire breaks out, threatening to destroy the tower and everyone in it.

The Towering Inferno Solar Movie
Movie Score: 7.1/10 from 438 votes
Release Date: 1974-12-14
Status: Released
Run time: 159 min / 2:39
Production Studio : United Films, Irwin Allen Productions, 20th Century Fox, Warner Bros. Pictures
Production Country: United States of America

The Towering Inferno Casts

Steve McQueen
as Chief O'Hallorhan
Paul Newman
as Doug Roberts
William Holden
as Jim Duncan
Faye Dunaway
as Susan
Fred Astaire
as Harlee Claiborne
Susan Blakely
as Patty
Richard Chamberlain
as Simmons
Jennifer Jones
as Lisolette
O.J. Simpson
as Jernigan
Robert Vaughn
as Senator Parker
Robert Wagner
as Bigelow
Susan Flannery
as Lorrie
Sheila Allen
as Paula Ramsay
Norman Burton
as Giddings
Jack Collins
as Mayor Ramsay
Don Gordon
as Kappy
Felton Perry
as Scott
Gregory Sierra
as Carlos
Ernie F. Orsatti
as Mark Powers
Dabney Coleman
as Deputy Chief #1
Elizabeth Rogers
as Lady in Buoy
Ann Leicester
as Guest
Norman Grabowski
as Flaker
Ross Elliott
as Deputy Chief #2
Olan Soule
as Johnson
Carlena Gower
as Angela Allbright
Mike Lookinland
as Phillip Allbright
Carol McEvoy
as Mrs. Allbright
Scott Newman
as Young Fireman
Paul Comi
as Tim
George Wallace
as Chief Officer
Patrick Culliton
as Technician
William Bassett
as Leading Agent
John Crawford
as Callahan
Erik L. Nelson
as Wes
Art Balinger
as Announcer
Norman Hicks
as Pilot
Thomas Karnahan
as Co-Pilot
Leoda Richards
as Party Guest

The Towering Inferno Crew

Sound John Williams Original Music Composer
Production Richard Shepherd Production Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Jean Burt Reilly Hairstylist
Directing John Guillermin Director
Writing Stirling Silliphant Screenplay
Production Irwin Allen Producer
Production Sidney Marshall Associate Producer
Editing Harold F. Kress Editor
Production Jack Baur Casting
Art William J. Creber Production Design
Art Raphael Bretton Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Paul Zastupnevich Costume Design
Production Norman A. Cook Unit Production Manager
Art Ward Preston Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Emile LaVigne Makeup Artist
Sound Theodore Soderberg Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Camera Fred J. Koenekamp Director of Photography
Editing Carl Kress Editor
Production Jere Henshaw Production Supervisor
Writing Richard Martin Stern Novel
Writing Thomas N. Scortia Novel
Writing Frank M. Robinson Novel
Directing Bob Bender Second Assistant Director
Directing Newt Arnold Assistant Director
Camera John Murray Key Grip
Crew Paul Stader Stunt Coordinator
Camera Thomas Laughridge Camera Operator
Lighting Gene Stout Gaffer
Costume & Make-Up Susan Germaine Hairstylist
Camera Kathy Fields Still Photographer
Sound Herbert W. Spencer Orchestrator
Art Nikita Knatz Production Illustrator
Art Steven P. Sardanis Assistant Art Director
Directing Philip Ball Second Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Naomi Cavin Hairstylist
Directing Marie Kenney Script Supervisor
Art Robert McLaughlin Property Master
Costume & Make-Up Monte Westmore Makeup Artist
Sound Leonard A. Engel Supervising Music Editor
Sound Don Hall Supervising Sound Editor
Art Joseph Musso Production Illustrator
Art Tom Cranham Production Illustrator
Directing Wes McAfee Assistant Director
Production Art Volpert Production Coordinator
Art Dan Goozee Production Illustrator
Crew George Leslie Production Controller
Crew Don Morgan Unit Publicist
Sound Ted Keep Scoring Mixer
Camera Orlando Suero Still Photographer
Editing Jack Hooper Negative Cutter
Directing Donald White Second Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Hugh McFarland Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Kathleen McCandless Costumer
Visual Effects Gerald Endler Mechanical Designer